Films I’m looking forward to in 2016 (Part 1)

Hello there again. So 2016 is around the corner. This year as been a great year for movies in my opinion. There have been good ones. For instance, after 10 years, we have recently been surrounded by the rebirth of the Star Wars franchise, which showed how you really start a new trilogy off. There have also been bad ones, the less said about the over complex, technical jargon mess of Terminator Genisys, the better. Either way, these are experiences in which we indulge in 120 minutes of escapism (including trailers which I watch), we sit in silence (if you don’t sit in a cinema in silence, then don’t send me an invite) and discuss our opinions and feelings about the film (we can talk after though).

With that in mind, I am kicking off my first in a two part series that will explore into detail about films that I am looking forward to in 2016. These are all my opinion and you are entitled to yours, so feel free to comment bellow. Lets go!

1. Ghostbusters (2016)

That’s right! We will be once be redialling that 80’s mobile phone for a modern intake on the Ghostbusters series.

As a fan of the original 1984 film, I am particularly interested in the cast selection for the new Ghostbusters team.

With names like Melissa McCarthey (Tammy), Kristen Wiig (Bridesmaids), Kate McKinnon (Ted 2) and Leslie Jones (Trainwreck) I think we could be looking at the comedy of 2016, especially with the good performances that these girls are known for.

Also, with Paul Feig as director who is responsible for Bridesmaids, Spy and The Heat, it is clear that yes he likes Melissa McCathey, but he’s showing his bravery to take a commercial product with good reputation and revamp it.

With the use of Sigourney Weaver and Bill Murray who featured in the Channel 5 classic, I imagine the film will be a parody mixed with action to combine an edgy movie. The use of CGI ghosts will go superb with the film, as it is such a long gap for a remake to make the original look dated.

The advertisement however alters my judgement. With use of a close up and smoke rising below the Ghostbusters logo, we could potentially witness a scary, shocking, all action ghost hunt which I would not mind seeing.

Overall, I feel this is a make or break film. I think, I will either love the brand more or it will be ruined. But with only posters to go by, I guess we shall wait till the trailer is released. It surely is highly anticiapted though with rumours been floating around for years on a new Ghostbusters. So bring it on!

The film is to be released on the 15th July in the USA & UK.

2. Angry Birds (2016)

When I first heard of the major motion picture based upon the once popular game Angry Birds, I was not phased. But when I witnessed the trailer before Star Wars: The Force Awakens, my opinion had totally changed and I’m very much looking forward to this.

Whilst analysing the trailer. I noticed components that appeal to all ages. The younger audience have colourful characters with easily identified personalities, cartoon violence and funny one liners. Whereas the adults have nostalgic 80s music from Michael Jackson & The Carpenters, subtle adult humour, characters who struggle to find a resolution and once again, funny one liners. We can also not forget that the game is played by numerous ages which will help with the fan base.

But a movie is not made without a big cast list, and Angry Birds is star studded. With names ike Jason Sudeikis (Meet The Millers), Danny McBride (This Is The End) and Josh Gad (Frozen) and so many more, it will be a tough movie to follow in star appeal.

Directors, Clay Kaytis & Fergall Reilly are responsible for animation movies like Wreck It Ralph, Frozen, The Iron Giant and Open Season. It is a movie that could be destined for big things.

I believe this film had lots of comparisons to The Lego Movie (2014) which combined all of these elements and pulled it off tremendously. Lets see what it delivers.

The film is scheduled to be released on the 13th May (UK) and the 20th May (USA)

3. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016)

Now those of you who know me will understand how much I screamed in excitement when the trailer for TMNT was released a couple weeks back. I am a big fan and yet again, I can not wait to see an over the top, action packed, turtle fighting movie that will surly please fans everywhere.

The recent trailer showed everything good about the Ninja Turtles. It showed the funny side to them with the quirky one liners delivered by the ever so special Michelangelo. Big action shots of the TMNT doing what they do best…kicking butt.  All while, Run DMC’s ‘Tricky’ played throughout the video, to show the sense of that even 3o year old fans of the originals can still get hyped over the turtles.

Let’s be serious for a minute, we all know what we are going to expect. We see the conventional story of four brothers (who happen to be mutated turtles) saving New York from evil beings plotting to take over the world (and these guys happen to a ninja master and other mutated creatures). Lets face it, the film is gonna be the same as the 2014 debut movie, and I’m not complaining. But this time, we are introduced to new characters in Stephan Arnell (Arrow) in which, I cant wait to see his interpretation of the rough and tough Casey Jones, Gary Anthony Williams (The Boondocks) as Bedop, but my guy Stephan Farrelley (Sheamus in WWE) make his blockbuster appearance as Rocksteady. And the best of all, they have armour, April O’Neil and the Battle Shell!

Will we see a difference in delivery with Dave Green (Earth To Echo) as director?  As oppose to former director Jonathan Liebesman (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles). Could this work better or will this sink to the sewers? To be honest, the TMNT story is awful, so it’s never going to the most ‘gripping’ story.

Now I understand, that some of you readers are not gonna buy into anything I have just said, but let me say this. Would you pay to see 4 turtles fight a giant rhino and a pig? I will leave you with that.

The second movie is released on the 3rd June 2016 in both the UK and USA.

So there you go guys. That was part one of my blog on movies I am excited to see in 2016. Please remember to like and comment on what you would like to see or if you agree with my thoughts. Remember to like my Facebook, Twitter and check out my YouTube bellow this page.

See you again soon for more movie thoughts.

Leave a Reply

