My favorite matches: #1 Edge Vs Mick Foley (WrestleMania 22)

Hello everyone and welcome to a new 3 part series of mine.

In this series, I am going to discuss my favourite matches. These are in no particular order. So let’s waste no time and get straight into it!

#1 Edge Vs Mick Foley (Wrestlemaina 22)

If there is one match that stole the show at Wrestlemania 22, it was defiantly the grueling, bloodbath between The Rated R Superstar and The Hardcore Legend.

The storyline between these two was simple, yet effective. Edge blaming Foley for his title loss, which then escalated into Edge wanting to humiliate Foley. In the opposite corner, Mick wanted to secure his Wrestlemania moment and show that he indeed still had it. The hatred, anger and desire to be the best was already there.

With the plot set, I was expecting a great match with your generic ‘street fight’ violence. How wrong I was.

My 12 year old eyes could not comprehend what I just saw. I had never seen anything like this in my life.

These men took extraordinary bumps involving Mick throwing himself around (as usual), an array of foreign objects, the reveal of a barded wire baseball bat (which is still the most ridiculous, badass piece of weaponry I’ve ever seen), and the wreckage of a table lit on fire. Take a look at the spear through fire on the link below if you dare.

Table Wreckage!

I had also never heard the crazy, high pitched, screaming commentary of Joey Style before. Sometimes slightly annoying, but worked a treat during this match.

Both competitors looked like survivors in a horror movie after it finished. The difference from there entrance to exit is bizarre. It made me respect the amount of pain Professional Wrestlers go through, and the lengths these two would go to entertain the fans.

Overall, it has everything. It has heightened drama where you don’t know who is going to win and who has the upper hand.

I found a new love for Edge and the world of ECW with its thirst for violence that every teenage Professional Wrestling fan desires.

The journey these two travelled through in this match still exhausts me, but is a match I will always remember. I’ve never seen anything like it, and I don’t think I ever will, which I am totally ok to hold that childhood memory.

Tune next time for another of my favourite matches.

 

4 thoughts on “My favorite matches: #1 Edge Vs Mick Foley (WrestleMania 22)

Leave a Reply

