Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of The Shadows Review

Good evening my readers and hope you are all having a loverly start to June.

Today, I finally got to witness my favourite group of mutant ass kickers that are the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in their new movie, Out of The Shadows. So here is my review of the recently released motion picture.

I remember seeing the first movie of the new franchise with my good friends at summer camp, we throughly enjoyed it and could not wait for the second instalment.

So TMNT: Out of the Shadows had a lot to live up to and it did…  a little.

We will start with the positives. It was great to see more exposure to the turtles. The first movie didn’t reveal the turtles enough and I was glad to get to know the characters better in this movie. Great moments with Mikey where you felt sorry for him whilst laughing at his quirky one liners.

My boy, Sheamus, did a tremendous job as Rocksteady. The accent worked well with the crooked charecter. You could tell him and Bepop (Gary A Williams) had a nice working relationship. They constantly fed off each other in the movie. It was a perfect match.

Now let’s get to the not so positive parts. I was throughly disappointed with the debut of Casey Jones played by Stephan Amell.

Elias Koteas debuted the role of Casey Jones in 1990 with the original movie. He was conoted as a badass, rebellious individual who enjoyed fighting besides the turtles.

In this movie, Jones was not utilised to his full potential. He was weak and wet. His mask and fighting scenes were amazing but the script and his portrayal was dorky. Heck, even April O Niel looked stronger than him. In the comics, Casey Jones is known as a skilled fighter with an array of vigilante weapons for him to happily destroy people with. Jones is beloved by hardcore followers in the franchise.

I understand that times have changed. The turtles are targeting a new generation but this film ruined the whole charecter. In general, all the male characters in the film were portrayed as silly, goofy idiots who all needed direction from others.

Secondly, I loved the appearance and surprise battle at the end with Krang. However, I wanted to see more of Shredder and Splinter. One of the awesome scenes in Luke’s cinema history movies moments is the battle scene between these two in the 2014 movie.

To start, Danny Woodburn does the impossible by making Splinter the coolest charecter in the movie. Splinter was deadly and used fantastically in the plot (that does not really exist in any TMNT movie). Shredder was an unstoppable machine of evilness. His armour and voice are the stuff nightmares are made of. If you don’t see where I am coming from, please watch this.

Splinter to me, is the heart of the gang. Without him, the turtles have nothing to learn. Although this movie was about developing the personalities of the turtles so it made sense for Splinter to return to his meditation and take a back seat.

To finalise, the movie was a good, flowing story that contained action, comedy and Megan Fox pounting. I still prefer the 2014 movie and think I always will.

Rating: 7/10 

At the end of the day, the plot of the Ninja Turtes is non existent. The story has changed throughout the years. However, it’s superb to see a remake of a classic cartoon that is popular among families, die hard fans and a new group of children.

Let me know what you guys think of the movie by commenting. Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat at @lutchinson11 and LukeHRock1994 on Facebook.

My blog keeps getting more viewers each time. I enjoy writing, and as long as there are people reading, I am gonna keep doing it. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

