My guilty pleasure tracks

Can not believe it has taken me a year to write a music based blog. What better way to begin than to get the embarrassing stuff out the way.

Guilty pleasures tracks are my go to ice breakers. The beauty in a great guilty pleasure track is it’s unique to that individual. To me, these are songs I have the urge to listen to and belt them in the shower due to the catchy melody.

So here are three songs I am ashamed to have on my iPod…  not!

Dead or Alive – You Spin Me Round (Like a Record) (1984) 

I purchased rather odd cassettes in my youth. The Cheeky Girls, Who Let The Dogs Out and even The Crazy Frog. Out of my crazy collection, this song was the most sane.

A generic eighties tune with dark lyrics that are mesmerising and have you in a trance. Written by Pete Burns and all his bandmates, this scored DOA a number one record. I came across this song by the re-release during Pete Burn’s participation of Celebrity Big Brother in 2006.

Paris Hilton – Stars Are Blind (2006)

Who remembers Paris Hilton’s music career? Only me by the sounds of it.

I have no opinion towards Paris Hilton. I don’t really know how she is famous but this song is bliss. Firstly, the video is too pleasing. It is not bad, in fact it is quite entertaining. Whether you want to admit it or not, Paris can work a camera.

Catchy lyrics with an upbeat rhythm that make this a perfect summer tune. 

The song peaked at #19 on the Billboard chart but did not scrape her a number one single. Not like she needs it anyway. 

Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up (1987)

Nope, you have not been Rick Rolled. My list of guilty pleasures was not complete without having the song that is synonymous with eighties chesse and a wedding party favourite.

Rick Astley’s hit song reached number one throughout all of Europe and the United States. Pete Waterman, the famous producer and DJ, wrote this song about a women he was seeing where Astley commented saying ‘you’re never gonna give her up’. How corny!

The song is cute and is complete with the given music conventions that is given to its period. Such as the simple dance routines, classical instruments, talented dancers and of course, the synthesizer.

Thanks everyone for the read and see you soon.

Tah very much,

AmeriBoy.

Leave a Reply

